National Quality Standard (NQS)

West Leeming Primary School has met ALL SEVEN QUALITY AREAS.

The National Quality Standard (NQS) sets a national benchmark for the quality of education and care services across Australia.

The National Quality Standard is informed by research about day-to-day program elements that optimise children’s learning and development from Kindergarten to Year 2.

There are seven Quality Areas, 15 standards with 40 elements.

Quality Area 1      Educational program and practice
Quality Area 2      Children’s health and safety
Quality Area 3      Physical environment
Quality Area 4      Staffing arrangements
Quality Area 5      Relationships with children
Quality Area 6      Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
Quality Area 7      Governance and Leadership

Each Year, at West Leeming Primary School, the staff in the Early Years use NQS as a reflective tool, examining the strategies being implemented and gauge the collective quality of the Early Years K-2 Program.

Each Year our Principal completes a NQS Audit on each Quality Area and records findings on the School Performance Management System.

Every three years an external review is completed by the Department of Education through the Office of Early Childhood.

Early Childhood 1